Yama Home > Kerala > Kerala Yoga > Yama


Yamas represents the sequence of steps that teaches about the right form of living. Yama Yoga teaches the rules that are to be practiced for healthy living. These rules are necessary for ethical and decent standards of living, the conventions to be followed for the betterment of life. There are two phases for living a decent life these are specified the rules to be done and rules not to be practiced. Yama Yoga helps in benefiting from the rules that should not be followed.

Yama yoga is linked to moderation, willpower and regulations of life. Yama refer to the actions that should not be performed in once life while the niyamas refer to the actions to be followed. These are perfomed when one gets linked to the inner soul of oneself.

There are ten commandants for Yama. These codes have been specified in Shandilya and Varaha Upanishads, Hatha Yoga Pradipika and Tirumantiram. The Patanjali specifies only five codes of Yamas out of the regular ten commandants.

The Yamas gives the knowledge to be kind, be true, and be profusion and being self-sufficient. These practices in Yama are linked to one’s attitude towards others.

Yama Yoga ranges from the moderate to energetic yoga a practice that is dependent on the physical and mental strength of the person practicing Yama Yoga.

Poses of Yama Yoga

The Ten Traditional codes of Yama Yoga are:

  1. Ahimsa: - This refers to the act of following nonviolence. Nonviolence refers to not harming any creature on earth by the actions of words, ideas and acts during the entire life span. This is one of the major types of Yama to be practiced.

  2. Satya: - Satya is linked to art of speaking truth. The act of purifying the thoughts based on the factual and sincerity. This is second major act to be done while practicing Yama.

  3. Asteya: - One should not earn the burden of money owing. This form Yama teaches about not being involved in any form of money lending.

  4. Brahmacharya: - This form of Yama teaches to be true to the form of present stage of life one is currently in like when person is single or married by following the path of divine.

  5. Kshama: - Is practicing the path of being patience and being serene. Increasing the power of tolerance and act of forgiving.

  6. Dhriti: - This is act of resoluteness, being out of freight, and uncertainity, being able to complete the job being performed.

  7. Daya: - Daya means being empathetic, winning over the insensitivity against the entire exiting mortal.

  8. Arjava: - means clarity in thoughts and act of not doing anything wrong, being candor, following integrity.

  9. Mitahara: - means being surviving on the minimal need of food by one’s body, not eating any meat, sea-food etc., keeping away the desire to eat more than required by body.

  10. Shaucha: - means cleansing of the body internally and externally and keeping the body away from any contamination. This form of Niyama is referred in the top list of Patanjali Yoga.

Benefits of Yama Yoga

The main aim of practicing Yama Yoga is to clinch the happiness of life, practicing the morals of life.The yama helps to acquire peace of mind and soul. This type of Yoga helps to acquire serenity and calmness in the body by allowing control on one’s body.


Related Image

Yama 1
Yama 2
Yama 3
Yama 4
Yama 5
Yama 6

Also Browse Following Under This Section

Related Topics

Kerala Yoga

The best way to create equilibrium in body, mind and soul one should create a habit of Yoga in his/her daily routine....

Health In Kerala

Kerala is a perfect blend of modern and the ancient forms of medicine. It can also be said that this is the only state where....

Karma Yoga

This form of yoga teaches about the...


Yamas represents the sequence of steps...