Niyama Home > Kerala > Kerala Yoga > Niyama


Niyama means the set of rules and the commitments towards the nature of life both spiritually and physically. It is a self healing approach for both body and soul.

The various testaments like Shandilya and Varuha Upanishads, Hatha Yoga Pradipika and Tirumantiram declares the dealings to be done in day to day life. There are total ten Niyamas that one should follow in their lifes.

The list of Traditional Niyamas to be Followed are:

  1. Hri: -refers to be being humble, feeling infamy for ones offences and being penitence;

  2. Santosha: - means being gratified, being content with the available assets so that there is no yearning for having something in excess;

  3. Dana: - act of doing something with a thought of not receiving any favor in return;

  4. Astikya: - feeling illuminated by the preaching’s of any teacher or guru;

  5. Ishvarapujana: - leading the life in the reverence of god by daily offering prayers to god, by purifying the soul by rumination;

  6. Siddhanta Shravana: -By paying attention to sacred readings, hearing to the words of wisdom;

  7. Mati: - being pious by leading the thoughts of wisdom spread by the preachers of spirituality;

  8. Vrata: - practicing hallowed promises, being dutiful;

  9. Japa: - practicing hymn and reciting the sacred mantra;

  10. Tapas: - the patience of being reverse of current situation. This is considered as the strongest in the yoga sutras.

Poses of Niyama Yoga

There are five Niyamas or promises that a person makes to himself are described below: -

  1. Saucha: - refers to one’s own inner and outer cleanliness. For keeping the inner self clean one should have healthy eating habits and drinking water for purification. The Mental cleanliness is related to keep the mind out of anger and negative thoughts.As per Yoga Sutra (II.40) “From purity arises a desire to protect one’s body and a cessation of adverse contact with others.”

  2. Santosha: - means being gratified. Gratification means being satisfied with whatever one has in life at any particular time. Mother Teresa has well said that “Be happy in the moment, that’s enough. Each moment is all we need, not more.” As per Yoga Sutra (II.42) “From contentment one gains supreme happiness.”

  3. Tapas: - has another meaning stern. With practicing Yoga one can learn to ignite a fire in the inner soul that will lead to live a better life. This will further help in driving oneself by motivating oneself. Tapas have been originated from the Sanskrit word called tap which is referred to as “to burn”. The traditional meaning of tapas is sizzling rules that is concentrated to let off the barriers that stop the person from relating to state of yoga.Yoga Sutra (II.43) says “Through the intensity of self-discipline and purification comes the dwindling of all impurities and the perfection of the body and senses.”

  4. Svadhyaya: - This means knowing about oneself. By understanding our inner soul we can drive our life from dark to light. Yoga Sutra (II.44) speaks about “From self-study comes communion with one’s chosen personal deity.”                         

  5. Ishvara: - This practice means devoting oneself in the hands of god. From Yoga Sutra (II.45) --- “From devotion to the Lord, one is given perfect absorption into Spirit.”

Related Image

Niyama 1
Niyama 2
Niyama 3
Niyama 4
Niyama 5
Niyama 6

Also Browse Following Under This Section

Related Topics

Kerala Yoga

The best way to create equilibrium in body, mind and soul one should create a habit of Yoga in his/her daily routine....

Health In Kerala

Kerala is a perfect blend of modern and the ancient forms of medicine. It can also be said that this is the only state where....

Karma Yoga

This form of yoga teaches about the...


Yamas represents the sequence of steps...