Regions In Jammu And Kashmir Home > Jammu And Kashmir > About Jammu And Kashmir > Regions In Jammu And Kashmir

Regions In Jammu And Kashmir

Kashmir (the part which belongs to India undisputedly) comprises of 3 natural divisions known as Jammu, Kashmir and Ladakh. There are just 2 administrative divisions for administrative purposes which are Kashmir Province (which comprises the districts of Srinagar, Kargil,  Baramulla, Badgam, Anantnag, Pulwama, Leh and Kupwara districts) and the other one is the Jammu Province.

The Jammu Region

Traditionally there were 2 approaches to the Valley of Kashmir or Kashmir Valley - one via western Punjab (which is presently in Pakistan) and another one via the region of Jammu. This region includes the hills, plains, and mountains south and west of the grand range of Pir Panjal that divides the Kashmir Valley from the Subcontinent’s plains. At present, the region of Jammu comprises the districts of Jammu, Rajouri, Udhampur, Poonch, Doda, and Kathua.

The Kashmir Region

Jammu & Kashmir (J&K) state is frequently mistakenly equated with the Kashmir Valley. The Kashmir Valley or Kashmir region, on the other hand, is merely this state’s one small part. The Kashmir valley is a prehistoric lake basin which is 32 km wide and 140 km long. The Valley’s average elevation is 5,300 feet above the sea level. Owing to the tall mountains that rise to 16,000 feet surrounding the Valley and its altitude, the tourists find particularly pleasant weather here throughout the year. The soil found here is alluvial soil which is well drained by streams and rivers and which eventually yield saffron, rice, vegetables and a wide range of fruits. In summer season, Kashmir attracts thousands of tourists from across the globe who love staying in a houseboat on the Dal Lake. Besides, houseboat stay, they also love to indulge in activities like trekking in the high meadows and searching for mementos in Srinagar’s quaint shops. Unfortunately, this region is known for violence too which has dominated this state for several years.

The Ladakh Region

Jammu & Kashmir’s eastern-most part constitutes Ladakh. This place is amongst the most breathtakingly beautiful places of this state. The surreal landscape of this place has also been frequently termed like "moonscape". Ladakh covers nearly 117,000 square km which also involves the upper Indus River valley and the Karakoram Range.

Ladakh is known for one of the highest places on this planet, and its average altitude is more than 12,000 feet. Due to the lofty surrounding mountain ranges, it barely rains here. The residents of this place live a very customary life, which includes herding yak and sheep, and cultivating barley in summer season near the river beds. Major part of the residents here are Lamaistic Buddhist. In the northern part of Ladakh, which is known as Kargil, one more section of people reside known as Shia Muslims. However, neither the Buddhists nor the Shias favour the militancy and violence in this Valley. This amazing place is linked by air to Leh, which is its regional capital. This place is also connected via road routes (from Srinagar and Himachal Pradesh’s Spiti).

Related Image


Also Browse Following Under This Section

Related Topics

Culture in Jammu and Kashmir

The Indian state Jammu and Kashmir inhabits diverse and distinct culture. It encompasses various lifestyles and habits....


The Indian state Jammu and Kashmir is not only considered as a paradise for its travelers but also for its food lovers....

Gulmarg Trekking

Trekking is one of the most famous and...

Sonamarg Trekking

In Jammu and Kashmir, Trekking is the...