District Information Offices Home > Jammu And Kashmir > About Jammu And Kashmir > District Information Offices

District Information Offices

The grand state of Jammu and Kashmir is broadly categorized into three divisions. You have the Jammu Valley, the Kashmir Valley and the glorious Ladakh Region. The place has the most fantastic 22 district divisions. However, the only place of Siachen Glacier is being controlled by the militaries. The administration of the place, however is not controlled by the state. Some of the districts have been newly formed, and the list includes Ramban, Samba, Ganderbal, Shopian, Kulgam, Bandipore, and Reasi.

Here, you have the latest information on the pivotal districts of Jammu and Kashmir


Anantnag has the best of the area of 3,934 square kilometers. You can locate Anantnag just 55 kilometers on the south east direction of a place known as Srinagar. Srinagar comprises of extend fertile valleys. The district is specifically given the name of ‘Granary of the Kashmir Valley’. This emphasizes the fact that the major food growth takes place here.


Jammu and Kashmir has its headquarters in the district of Baramulla city. The credit of the joyous discovery of the place goes to Raja Bhimsina. On entering the district, you can have the best escape to the cities of Muzzaffarabad and Rawalpindi, located in Pakistan. So it can be termed as a gateway to Pakistan.


A part of Srinagar forms the district of Budgam. The formation took place between the years of 1979 to 1980. Within the district, you have three important tehsils with the names of Chadoora, Budgam and Beerwah. These are worthy districts to be noticed.


The largest of all among the districts of Jammu and Kashmir is a place named as Doda. The place covers a total area of 11,691 square kilometers. The entire area is perfectly segregated into seven solid tehsils.


Jammu is a wondrous district and it is considered as the winter capital of J&K. Starting from November till April the offices for administration is easily shifted from the district of Srinagar to the district of Jammu. The place holds an absolute area of 3,097 square kilometers and here you have the maximum population of the state of Jammu and Kashmir. The population is an amalgamated one, and this helps you discern the diversification in culture and existence.


Kargil is an immense rocky district, and the portion was fabricated out of Ladakh in the year of 1979. Kargil is based in the core area of the Valley of Kashmir, and it enjoys a fabulous distance of 205 kilometers from the district of Srinagar.


Once you travel towards the southernmost point of Jammu and Kashmir, you land at the district of Kathua. The place has a total area of 2651 square kilometers. Kathua is appositely partitioned into four specific tehsils of Billawar, Kathua, Hiranagar and Basholi.


From Srinagar on traveling a distance of 90 kilometers you reach at a place known as Kupwara District. A part of Baramulla district was separated and formed into Kupwara during the years of 1979.


The subdivision of Ladakh gave way to places such as Kargil and Leh. On measuring,  you would find that the district has a total area of 44,000 square kms. The place is made massive and convenient with the sufficing of one tehsil and 112 villages.


Have you heard the name of Poonch. This is the tiniest district within Jammu and Kashmir. However, the place holds three distinct tehsils and one can never deny the historical significance of the locale.


A division of Anantnag is known as Pulwana. This geographical arena measures about 1398 square kilometers, among which an area of 1011 is densely covered with forest land. This is a district noted for the growth of saffron and Ambree Apples.


You even have the most famous district of Rajouri and the place shares common borders with the Pakistani area of Mirpur. However, Rajouri falls within Kashmir. Previously, Rajouri was a part of the Poonch District. The place is known to have a total area of 2630 square kilometers.


In central Kashmir you find the district of Srinagar. Srinagar serves as the pivotal destination, and it is bounded by other districts from all corners. Srinagar is discerned as the summer capital of the state of Jammu and Kashmir, and it is known to have an immense commercial significance.


This is a prominent district in the state of Jammu and Kashmir known to have its headquarters in the Udhampur City. The district is massive and comprises of five tehsils, and it wonderfully consists of the 12 community blocks.

You have some of the other notable districts in the state of Jammu and Kashmir, and this is an enriched list with names like Samba, Kishtwar, Kulgam, Shopian, Reasi, Ganderbal, Bandipore and Ramban.

Related Image


Also Browse Following Under This Section

Related Topics

Culture in Jammu and Kashmir

The Indian state Jammu and Kashmir inhabits diverse and distinct culture. It encompasses various lifestyles and habits....


The Indian state Jammu and Kashmir is not only considered as a paradise for its travelers but also for its food lovers....

Gulmarg Trekking

Trekking is one of the most famous and...

Sonamarg Trekking

In Jammu and Kashmir, Trekking is the...